WLA Past Presidents

The Women Lawyers’ Association of Greater St. Louis has been in existence since 1976, when a brave group of women decided to band together to form an organization that would support and promote women lawyers in all of their endeavors. Our members are judges, business leaders, politicians, lawyers from big firms, lawyers from small firms and everyone in between.

We are proud to name the following as our Past Presidents:

  • Hon. Anna Forder, Charter President
  • Sally Heller, 1996-1997
  • Margaret Fox, 1977-1978
  • Mary Butts Bruntrager, 1997-1998
  • Adrienne Anderson, 1978-1979
  • Jennifer Finley, 1998-1999
  • Karen Tokarz, 1979-1980
  • Teresa A. Generous, 1999-2000
  • Hon. Barbara Wallace, 1980-1981
  • Patricia Hageman, 2000-2001
  • Annette Heller, 1981-1982
  • Helen Paulson, 2001-2002
  • Marjorie K. Carter, 2002-2003
  • Mary Colleen Sleater, 1983-1984
  • Hon. Peg McCartney, 2003-2004
  • Hon. Susan Blaney, 1984-1985
  • Megan Phillips, 2004-2005
  • Janet F. Catalona, 1985-1986
  • Heather Hays, 2005-2006
  • Hon. Mary K. Hoff, 1986-1987
  • Lynn Ricci, 2006-2007
  • Linda Murphy, 1987-1988
  • Genevieve Nichols, 2007-2008
  • Patricia Flood, 1988-1989
  • Patricia Susi, 2008-2009
  • Pat Simons, 1989-1990
  • Hon. Nicole Colbert-Botchway, 2009-2010
  • Mary Coffey, 1990-1991
  • Jessica Liss, 2010-2011
  • Toni Griesbach, 1991-1992
  • Kristine Bridges 2011-2012
  • Deidre Smith, 1992-1993
  • Jamie Boyer, 2012-2013
  • Hon. Audrey G. Fleissig, 1993-1994
  • Jessica Kennedy, 2013-2014
  • Gretchen Myers, 1994-1995
  • Elizabeth Grana, 2014-2015
  • Sharon Agee, 1995-1996
  • Heather Bub, 2015-2016
  • Amy Gunn 2017-2018

  • Bridget Hoy, 2016-2017

WLA Annual Meeting and President's Party

Thursday, August 13th |5:30  - 7:00 PM

South Pavilion at Clayton's Shaw Park

The Annual Meeting serves to ratify the work of the Board over the course of the year.  Due to recent County health guidelines, the number of allowable in-person attendees has been limited.  We invite those already registered to come out and join us.  For those not yet registered, we are offering a Zoom window to the event.  Click here to register for the Zoom meeting and login information will be sent to you.  Registration for the event is free.  We look forward to "seeing" you there.

WLA Zoom "Mixology" Happy Hour

Thursday, September 10th | 5:30 - 6:30 PM

Please join the WLA for its  September Zoom Happy Hour on Thursday, September 10, from 5:30 - 6:30 PM.  Join host and WLA Board member Ida Shafaie to share mocktail and cocktail recipes that have provided comfort over the last five months of quarantine.  Guests will be sent featured recipes in advance and are encouraged to share a recipe or two with the group.  The event is free and space is limited.  Registration is on a first-come basis and attendees will be provided with meeting sign-in information prior to the event.  Register here.

WLA Zoom Mentorship Luncheon

Thursday, August 27th | 11:30 AM - 1:00 PM

Please join the WLA for its May Mentorship Luncheon focused on “The Virtual Practice of Law”.  The WLA will give priority in registration for this luncheon to its target audience, WLA members who are 36 and under or have been practicing five years or less.  The WLA, in partnership with its Membership/Mentorship Sponsor, Dowd Bennett LLP, will host the meeting on Dowd Bennett’s Zoom account and ensure that attendees receive a $15 gift certificate for food delivery in advance.  The guest speakers will be the Honorable Ellen Dunne of the 21st Judicial Circuit Court and Erica Blume Slater of The Simon Law Firm.  Register here.  

WLA CLE Series - 2020 Zoom Legislative Update

Friday, September 11th | 11:45 AM - 1:00 PM

Please join WLA for its upcoming Legislative Update CLE.  Gain insights and tips on "running for public office" and hear legislative updates/priorities from elected officials from the Missouri State Senate, St. Louis County Council, and the City of St. Louis' Board of Alderman.  

Panelists Include:

We look forward to an informative and insightful discussion over our Zoom platform.  1.5 CLE hours are pending approval for this session.  Registration is FREE for members and $10 for non-members.  Register here.  

Save the Date:

WLA Annual Installation & Awards Ceremony

Thursday, September 24th | 5:00 - 7:00 PM

Enterprise Holdings Pavilion at Clayton's Shaw Park

Join your fellow members as they welcome the 2020-2021 Board of Directors and honor our recently appointed women judges, scholarship awardees and President's Award recipient.     

WLA is committed to the health and safety of its members and guests.  Every effort will be made to provide a safe meeting environment.  Future health and safety concerns and directives may result in this event being moved to a virtual platform. 

Monthly Board Meeting:

3rd Thursday of Each Month

11:30 AM - 1:00 PM

Contact admin@wlastl.org for location

View our Announcements page for information on other area events.

Follow us:



The Women Lawyers' Association of Greater St. Louis

P.O. Box 775512
St. Louis, MO 63177